Oil Leak

post questions about your car

Oil Leak

Postby bloodbath » Thu Mar 01, 2012 6:07 pm

I'm pretty new to working on cars and vws, but I need a little help with my solving a problem I'm having. I have oil leaking from a part directly to the right of the distributor. I've looked through some of the service manuals I have and I can't figure out what this is. As you can see the previous owner used some kind of sealant on the area. I just wanted to know what this part is before I remove it and try to replace it with the correct part and gaskets. It only leaks small amounts and I keep an eye on the oil level in the engine and it still stays at the correct level. Any help or advice is appreciated.

Random avatar
bloodbath

Re: Oil Leak

Postby bloodbath » Thu Mar 01, 2012 6:42 pm

Also, I probably left out some key information. It's a 72 super beetle with a 73 motor.
Random avatar
bloodbath

Postby vdubjim » Thu Mar 01, 2012 7:35 pm

thats a home made fuel pump block off plate using a piece of tin and the original pump spacer.
Go to larrys or bethany imports and buy a proper block off plate 8-15$ im sure. It will get rid of that black plastic thing.

Be careful when you pull it out, if it is stuck at the bottom it might break off and plastic fall inside the motor.
vdubjim
Site Admin

Postby Joe-405 » Thu Mar 01, 2012 7:46 pm

Or you can put a mechanical fuel pump back in it.
Joe-405

Highscores: 4

Postby bloodbath » Fri Mar 02, 2012 3:58 am

Thanks really appreciate the help
Random avatar
bloodbath

Postby bloodbath » Thu Apr 26, 2012 12:29 pm